Basic Driver Safety Program

Drivers

Instructions

This program must be completed once for each new and existing driver (i.e. faculty, staff, student and volunteers) who operate state, rental or privately owned vehicles on behalf of WWU for official university business (including large passenger vans). Check with your supervisor or unit head first before completing this on your own. Your department or unit may have other procedures in place to comply with state policies.

  1. Download and print Safety Checklist for State Drivers
  2. With the printed checklist in hand, complete the corresponding action items listed below
  3. Take the completed checklist to your supervisor, or authorized designee, for review and signature. The completed checklist should be kept in the supervisor’s departmental files for the duration of the individual’s driving responsibilities at Western. You are done!

Action Items

  1. Driver’s License: Attach a photocopy of your driver’s license to the checklist OR your supervisor must visually check the driver’s license to determine that it is valid under Washington State law.

    In either case, the supervisor must check that the driver’s license:
    1. has not expired
    2. photo matches the driver and name matches Western's records
    3. birth date indicates the driver is a minimum of 18 years old (minimum 21 years old for 12-passenger vans). The Department of Licensing website provides information on licensing requirements.

    You can check online whether a driver has a valid Washington State Drivers License.
  2. Experience: Verify that you have been a fully licensed driver for at least two (2) years. At least five (5) years for 12-passenger van drivers.
  3. Invalid driver’s license procedures: As a driver, you must report to your supervisor by the end of the next business day upon notification by your applicable licensing agency that your driver’s license has been revoked, suspended or otherwise determined invalid.
  4. Access to state policies: You have access to state policies online at Enterprise Wide Transportation Policies. If you do not have daily access to a computer and internet, advise your supervisor accordingly and request other arrangements. To help you comply with applicable state regulations, you can review As a DRIVER, how do the policies affect me?
  5. You may only use a state vehicle for the official state business of Western.
  6. To promote safety awareness, you should strongly consider viewing the state’s 12-minute video called “Safe Driving Habits: A State of Mind.” The video is viewable online.

Please review the following action items as well:

  1. Large Passenger Van Drivers: In addition to the Basic Driver Safety Program, drivers of 12-passenger vans must comply with Western’s large passenger van safety measures and training. Note: Western has discontinued use of all 15-passenger vans for passenger transportation.
  2. Student Drivers: If you are a student and you have been directed to use your own private vehicle on behalf of Western, you must download and sign the Student Using a Privately Owned Vehicle on Behalf of Western form. Attach the form to the completed Safety Checklist for State Drivers and give to your supervisor.
  3. High Mileage or Frequent At-Fault Accident Drivers (Employees Only): You may meet the state's criteria for “Specified Drivers.” If so, additional state requirements and forms are required. Please consult with your supervisor if you drive over 1,000 miles per month or have been involved in one or more at-fault accidents as an employee driver.

You are done! Take the completed checklist to your supervisor, or authorized designee, for review and signature. The completed checklist will be kept in the supervisor’s departmental files for the duration of the individual’s driving responsibilities at Western. If you plan to drive for other Western departments, you may to make a copy of the checklist for your own records.

Page Updated 12.28.2015