Staff & Faculty



Center for Canadian-American Studies


Don profile picture
Dr. Donald K. Alper
Donald.Alper@wwu.edu
Ph: (360) 650-3728
Fx: (360) 650-3995
Director, Center for Canadian-American Studies
Professor, Department of Political Science
Dr. Donald K. Alper has a Ph.D. in political science from the University of British Columbia and has taught at Western Washington University for 35 years. He is both the director of the Center for Canadian-American Studies (since 1993) and the Border Policy Research Institute (since 2005). Dr. Alper is the author of numerous publications and is an active member (and past-President) of the Association for Canadian Studies in the United States (ASCUS). A 2007 recipient of the International Council for Canadian Studies' Certificate of Merit, Dr. Alper is a recognized scholar and leader in the field of Canadian Studies. His teaching and research interests include American and Canadian politics as well as political relations between them.


Chuck profile picture
Chuck Hart
Chuck.Hart@wwu.edu
Ph: (360) 650-3728
Program Manager
Chuck Hart is the Program Manager for the Center for Canadian-American Studies who oversees all administrative and budgetary matters for our program. After earning his B.A. at WWU (majoring in Political Science), Chuck worked in several departments at the university, including University Residences and Admissions. He has been a valuable asset to the Center for Canadian-American Studies for the past four years and, although he will not be present at STUDY CANADA this year, participants will likely communicate with him at some point regarding STUDY CANADA administration. Most questions should be directed to him regarding payments, course credit, and transcript requests.


Tina profile picture
Tina Storer
Tina.Storer@wwu.edu
Ph: (360) 650-7370
Education and Curriculum Specialist
Tina Storer, Education and Curriculum Speciialist at WWU's Center for Canadian-American Studies, is a former secondary school English teacher certified in Ontario, Québec and Washington State. She is uniquely qualified to perform outreach due to her professional background and personal experience as a true Canadian-American, having been born in Toronto but spending equal parts of her life on one side of the border or the other. Although her BA is from the University of Toronto and her B.Ed. from the University of Ottawa, her own K-12 schooling took place in Livonia, Michigan. She specializes in developing curriculum materials on Canada for use by American K-12 teachers. The www.k12studycanada.org website, the O Canada! NIE publication, K-12 STUDY CANADA loan-kits and monthly resource notices are all examples of her expertise.


David profile picture
David Davidson
David.Davidson@wwu.edu
Ph: (360) 650-2642
Associate Director, Border Policy Research Institute

From 2005 to 2014, Mr. Davidson served as the Associate Director of the Border Policy Research Institute at Western Washington University, in Bellingham, Washington. He conducts field research projects with students, produces the Institute's periodical, the Border Policy Brief, and administers day-to-day operations of the Institute. Prior to working at the Institute, he served for eight years as the City Administrator in Sumas, Washington, a city abutting the Canadian border. In that capacity he gained practical experience with border-related issues in arenas such as border security, environmental management, and trade facilitation. Mr. Davidson holds a master's degree in computer science from the University of Virginia and a master's degree in public administration from the University of Washington.

College of Humanities and Social Sciences


Department of Anthropology

Daniel Boxberger

Daniel.Boxberger@wwu.edu
Ph: (360) 650-4798
Fx: (360) 650-7295
Professor, Department of Anthropology
Ph.D., University of British Columbia
First Nations; Native Peoples and Natural Resources

Sarah Campbell

Sarah.Campbell@wwu.edu | website
Ph: (360) 650-4793
Fx: (360) 650-7668
Associate Professor, Department of Anthropology
Ph.D., University of Washington
Pre-History of the Northwest Coast

James Loucky

James.Loucky@wwu.edu | website
Ph: (360) 650-3615
Fx: (360) 650-7668
Associate Professor, Department of Anthropology
Ph.D., University of California, Los Angeles
North American Borderlands


Department of English

Nancy Pagh

Nancy.Pagh@wwu.edu
Ph: (360) 676-5653
Fx: (360) 650-4837
Lecturer, Department of English
Ph.D., University of British Columbia
Canadian Literature

John Purdy

John.Purdy@wwu.edu | website
Ph: (360) 650-3243
Professor of English
Ph.D., Arizona State University
English, Canadian Literature


Department of History

Cecilia Danysk

Cecilia.Danysk@wwu.edu
Ph: (360) 650-3816
Fx: (360) 650-7789
Associate Professor, Department of History
Ph.D., McGill University
Canadian Social History

Kevin Leonard

Kevin.Leonard@wwu.edu
Ph: (360) 650-3041
Fx: (360) 650-7789
Assistant Professor, Department of History
Ph.D., University of California, Davis
Pacific Northwest History


Department of Modern and Classical Languages

Vicki Hamblin

Vicki.Hamblin@wwu.edu
Ph: (360) 650-4859
Fx: (360) 650-6110
Associate Professor of French
Ph.D., University of Arizona
French Literature

Cecile Hanania

Cecile.Hanania@wwu.edu
Ph: (360) 650-4858
Fx: (360) 650-6110
Assistant Professor of French
Ph.D., University of Maryland
French Literature; Québec Culture

Christina Keppie

Christina.Keppie@wwu.edu
Ph: (360) 650-3930
Fx: (360) 650-6110
Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Alberta
French, Applied Linguistics, Canadian Culture

Edward Ousselin

Edward.Ousselin@wwu.edu | website
Ph: (360) 650-2092
Assistant Professor
Ph.D., Ohio State University
French, French Cultural Studies and Film Studies


Department of Political Science

Amir Abedi

Amir.Abedi@wwu.edu
Phone: (360) 650-6596
Fax: (360) 650-2800
Ph.D., University of British Columbia
Associate Professor, Department of Political Science
Comparative politics, European Politics

Donald Alper

donald.alper@wwu.edu | website
Ph: (360) 650-3728
Fx: (360) 650-3995
Professor, Department of Political Science
Director, Center for Canadian-American Studies
Ph.D., University of British Columbia
Canadian Politics; Canadian-US Relations

Bidisha Biswas

Bidisha.Biswas@wwu.edu
Phone: (360) 650-6596
Fax: (360) 650-2800
Ph.D., University of Maryland, College Park
Assistant Professor, Department of Political Science
Security and counterterrorism

Theodore Kamena

Theodore.Kamena@wwu.edu
Ph: (360) 650-6655
Fx: (360) 650-3495
Compliance Coord / Academic Advisor, Athletics
Ph.D., University of Calgary
Canadian American Studies, Political Science

Debra Salazar

Debra.Salazar@wwu.edu | website
Ph: (360) 650-6845
Fx: (360) 650-2800
Professor, Department of Political Science
Ph.D., University of Washington
Forest Policy; Political Economy

Sara Singleton

Sara.Singleton@wwu.edu
Ph: (360) 650-4880
Associate Professor, Department of Political Science
Ph.D., University of Washington
Environmental Politics and Policy

College of Business and Economics


Department of Economics

Steven Globerman

Steven.Globerman@wwu.edu | website
Kaiser Professor of International Business, Center for International Business
Ph: (360) 650-7708
Fx: (360) 650-4844
College of Business and Economics
Ph.D., New York University
International Business; Canada-US Business Relations

Mary Ann Hendryson

MaryAnn.Hendryson@wwu.edu
Ph: (360) 650-4799
Fx: (360) 650-4844
Lecturer, Department of Economics
A.B.D., Washington State University
Canadian Economic History; Cross-Border Economic Relations

Hart Hodges

Hart.Hodges@wwu.edu
Ph: (360) 650-2162
Assistant Professor, Economics
Ph.D., University of Washington
Regional Economics and Business Research

Paul Storer

Paul.Storer@wwu.edu | website
Ph: (360) 650-6531
Fx: (360) 650-4844
Professor, Department of Economics
Ph.D., University of Western Ontario
Canadian Economic Policy; Macroeconomics; Labor Economics

Center for International Business

Christopher Sands

Christopher.Sands@wwu.edu
Phone: (360) 650-7292
Fax: (360) 650-4844
Ross Distinguished Professor of Canadian-United States Business and Economic Relations
Ph.D., The Johns Hopkins University
School for Advanced International Studies

College of Fine and Performing Arts


Sarah Clark-Langager

Sarah.ClarkLangager@wwu.edu
Ph: (360) 650-3963
Fx: (360) 650-6878
Director, Western Gallery
Ph.D., Graduate Center, City University of New York

Huxley College of the Environment


Department of Environmental Studies

Troy Abel

Troy.Abel@wwu.edu
Phone: (360) 650-6133
Fax: (360) 650-7702
Ph.D., George Mason University
Assistant Professor, Environment Studies
Environmental policy and resolutions

Jean Melious

Jean.Melious@wwu.edu | website
Ph: (360) 650-7377
Fx: (360) 650-2842
Associate Professor, Center for Geography and Environmental Social Sciences
J.D., Harvard Law School
Canadian Law and Environmental Policy

Grace Wang

Grace.Wang@wwu.edu
Ph: (360) 650-3278
Associate Professor, Center for Geography and Environmental Social Sciences
Environmental Science; Natural Resource Policy


Department of Geography

Patrick Buckley

Patrick.Buckley@wwu.edu
Ph: (360) 650-4773
Fx: (360) 650-7702
Associate Professor, Center for Geography and Environmental Social Sciences
Ph.D., Boston University
Transborder Economic Modeling and GIS


Robert Monahan

Ph: (360) 650-3728
Fx: (360) 650-3995
Professor Emeritus, Center for Geography and Environmental Social Sciences
Ph.D., McGill University
Canadian Geography, Environment and Resources

David A. Rossiter

David.Rossiter@wwu.edu | website
Ph: (360) 650-3603
Fx: (360) 650-2645
Assistant Professor, Center for Geography and Environmental Social Sciences
Ph.D., York University
Environmental History and Natural Resource Management in Canada


Libraries


Robert Lopresti

Rob.Lopresti@wwu.edu | website
Ph: (360) 650-3342
Fx: (360) 650-3044
Associate Professor, Library
MLS, Rutgers, The State University
Canadian Government Information; Resources

Copyright © 2002 - 2012 Western Washington University