Jeff Young – Biology
David Patrick – Chemistry
Phil Nelson – Computer Science
Nikki Larson – Engineering Technology
Doug Clark – Geology
Edoh Amiran – Math
Kristen Larson – Physics
Alejandro Acevedo - SMATE
Amanda Murphy – AMSEC


PPBC represents the members of the faculty of the College of Sciences and Technology.  PPBC is responsible for policy and procedures regarding academic quality in the College and advises the Dean on budget and planning. 

This charge requires that the PPBC be consulted during the process of decisions and be kept informed about issues affecting academic quality.  PPBC receives support as available from the Dean’s office for the administration of these duties.


a.            Reviews and maintains the document setting policies and procedures for the College (the COPEP) and ensures that it is consistent with the                  faculty CBA.

b.            Approves and upholds the departmental addenda to the COPEP with standards for Annual Review, Tenure and Promotion, and Post-Tenure                Review. 

c.             Works with the Dean to develop and revise a strategic plan consistent with the University's strategic plan and College initiatives.

d.            Advises the Dean on budgetary matters, including allocation of faculty hires.

e.            Appoints College faculty representatives to University committees.

f.             Oversees activity of the other College governance committees: Curriculum, Personnel, and Technical Operations.

g.            Communicates issues important for academic quality to the faculty of the College and the University Faculty Senate.


a.            The faculty of each department and program in the College selects one member for the council.  The member shall be a tenure-track or                 tenured faculty member and shall not be the departmental chair or program director.

a.            A center or group qualifies as a "program" for the purpose of membership when it meets the following criteria: (1) It includes faculty members                Review.  Review. from different departments with at least 75% of them housed in departments of the College and (2) it has its own criteria or                processes for developing curriculum, for review of faculty performance, and/or for hiring tenure-track or non-tenure-track faculty.  The                         current programs in the College are the Science, Math, and Technology Education group (SMATE) and the Advanced Materials Science and                Engineering Center (AMSEC).

b.            The term of service is two years, with approximately half of the membership selected each year.  No member shall serve more than six                         consecutive years.

c.             The Dean and any members of the Dean's office designated by the Dean may be invited to council meetings, but are not voting members of                 the council.

d.            A majority of voting members shall constitute a quorum for all business of the council.  The council determines its own procedures and                          officers, typically designating a chair and a secretary at the start of the academic year.