2012-2013 Members

Jeff Young – Biology
David Patrick – Chemistry
Phil Nelson – Computer Science
Nikki Larson – Engineering Technology
Doug Clark – Geology
Edoh Amiran – Math
Kristen Larson – Physics
Alejandro Acevedo - SMATE
Amanda Murphy – AMSEC


The faculty of each department and program in the College selects one member for the council.  The member shall be a tenure-track or tenured faculty member and shall not be the departmental chair or program director.

a.            A center or group qualifies as a "program" for the purpose of membership when it meets the following criteria: (1) It includes faculty members                Review.  Review. from different departments with at least 75% of them housed in departments of the College and (2) it has its own criteria or                processes for developing curriculum, for review of faculty performance, and/or for hiring tenure-track or non-tenure-track faculty.  The                         current programs in the College are the Science, Math, and Technology Education group (SMATE) and the Advanced Materials Science and                Engineering Center (AMSEC).

b.            The term of service is two years, with approximately half of the membership selected each year.  No member shall serve more than six                         consecutive years.

c.             The Dean and any members of the Dean's office designated by the Dean may be invited to council meetings, but are not voting members of                 the council.

d.            A majority of voting members shall constitute a quorum for all business of the council.  The council determines its own procedures and                          officers, typically designating a chair and a secretary at the start of the academic year.