Abstract Menu

ABSTRACT of Faculty Senate Meeting October 28, 2002

§         John Purdy, 2002-2003 Senate President, called the Senate meeting to order at 4:02 pm.  Senators approved the minutes of October 14, 2002 along with Standing Committee minutes.  University President Karen Morse reported that proposals are being formulated by the HEC Board, the governor and legislators, which support higher education.  Morse will attend meetings to discuss approval of the State’s “needs statement” in this regard.

§         President Purdy reported that Kathy Knutzen has agreed to fill the non-voting, past president position on the Executive Council replacing Kathleen Kennedy who is on leave.

§         Senators brought the following constituent concerns:  1) clarification of Handbook policy on possible liability of faculty running for public office; 2) clarification on who sets policy for postings and tables in Red Square;  3) request for a model analysis of the way information moves through the campus community, including the overlapping of important deadlines.

§         Senators moved to appoint an Ad Hoc committee to survey other universities on how they address faculty concerns about inequities or faculty concerns not covered under the grievance policy.

§         Senators moved to request the University Planning Council to conduct a survey of limited-term faculty on issues of importance to their professional life at Western.

§         Senators heard that the generally negative ballot results on the restructuring plan will be presented to the Board of Trustees on November 7th along with a report from the Senate President, and the response from the General Faculty Assembly.    Faculty are invited to comment at the Board meeting by making an appointment with the Secretary at x3117.

§         The meeting adjourned at 5: 01 pm.



The Senate appointed the following faculty:   

Academic Technology Committee

Roger Germain, CFPA;  Mark Miller, Fairhaven; Greg Hoffenbacker, Tech Services;

Committee on Grievance and Sanctions -

David Rystrom, Finance, 1-yr term; Donna Packer, Library, 2-yr term