ABSTRACT of Faculty Senate Meeting April 21, 2003

§         John Purdy, 2002-2003 President, called the Senate meeting to order at 4:05 pm.  Senators approved the minutes of April 7, 2003 and Standing Committee minutes.

§         Provost Bodman will announce the finalists for Deans’ positions for at least one of the new colleges this week. 

§         Senators passed a motion, which eliminates second readings of minutes of Standing Committees.

§         Paula Rustan demonstrated the university budgeting process in a power point presentation prepared jointly with University President Karen Morse.  Mark Lane was present to answer Senators’ questions.

§         Provost Bodman distributed a set of priorities for Academic Affairs funding for the coming biennium, which he developed jointly with the Provost’s Council.  Bodman wished for an endowment to increase funding for library resources.

§         Senators discussed budget priorities extensively, and in particular the trend toward increasing limited-term faculty and administrative exempt FTE over tenure-track faculty FTE. They also discussed the processes for decision making in the area of technology.

§         Senators chose to forego moving to Executive Session and adjourned at 6:15 pm.



Kevin Leonard, Elections Officer

Leonard held an election for write-in candidates and Executive Council nominees for the 2003-2005 Faculty Senate.  The following faculty were elected from their Areas:

A - TJ Olney, Marketing

B - Kristi Lemm, Psychology

B - Kristen Parris, Political Science

F - Niall O Murchu, Fairhaven

At-Large:  Michael Meehan, Computer Science

There is one vacant position for a Senator from Woodring College.

The new Senate will be seated at the May 19th meeting at which James Loucky, 2003-2004 President will hold an election of officers.  The President’s Dinner for new and continuing Senators and Chairs of Standing Committees will be held Monday, June 9th.