ABSTRACT of Faculty Senate Meeting May 19, 2003

§         John Purdy, President, held a roll call of the 2003-2004 Faculty Senate at 4:05 pm following orientation of new Senators.  Senators approved the minutes of May 5, 2003 and Standing Committee minutes.  President Morse reported that budget information is coming out this week. 

§         Senators elected the following officers to the Executive Council of the 2003-2004 Faculty Senate, James Loucky, President (effective June 24):  James Stewart, President-Elect (2004-2005) , Kristen Parris, Appointments and Elections Officer, Thomas Read, Secretary, Laura Laffrado, At-Large. John Purdy serves as president pro tem until June 23.

Senators moved on the following:

Ř      To send language on partner accommodation to the Executive Council for clarification on use of the term “administrative”.

Ř      To adopt revisions to the membership of the Academic Technology Committee, (BL7.8.1).  Senators recommended that the Senate negotiate with the administration to incorporate early faculty participation in decision-making processes.

Ř      To adopt amended revisions to the Faculty Handbook on Salary Policy (X.D., new Section 6.)

Senators deferred discussion on tenure and promotion revisions and raised a

constituent concern about Red Square noise policy.  Adjourned at 5:55 pm.


APPOINTMENTS AND ELECTIONS, Kevin Leonard, Elections Officer

Appointed to Senate Standing Committees:

Academic Coordinating Commission from Areas::

A – Janice Lapsansky, Biology;  C – David Curley, Liberal Studies; D -  Grant Donnellan, Music;  E -  Mary Ann Reynolds, Accounting; F – Stan Tag, Fairhaven;

G – Nick Zaferatos, Huxley; H –  Shelby Sheppard, Ed Foundations.

University Planning Council:

Larry Estrada, Fairhaven; Matt Roelofs, Economics; Diane Parker, Library

Senate Legislative Committee

Todd Donovan, Political Science

Senate Library Committee

Jeff Purdue, Library

Sara Singleton, Political Science

Dan Rowe, Fairhaven



1 Senate vacancy - Area B – 1 year term

Student Academic Grievance Board

4 faculty: two 3-year terms, one 2-year term, one 1-year term

Salary & Welfare Committee -1 vacancy (3-year term)

Committee on Grievance and Sanctions - 5 vacancies from all areas (3-yr term)

Senate Library Committee – 1 vacancy

University Planning Council – 1 vacancy



Material for FAST publication for handbook:

At its May 19th meeting, the Faculty Senate approved the following revisions to the

Salary Policy (X.D., new Section 6.) of the Faculty Handbook (new material bolded, deletions struck-through):


D.        Salary Categories and Priorities

  This salary policy classifies the division of any legislative appropriation designated for faculty salary increases and monies available from other sources permitted by law into five categories: (1) promotion; (2) general merit: (3) cost of living; (4) special merit; and (5) equity, compression, retention; and (6) specifically designated funds.  These Those salary increases obtained for 1-5 will be disbursed under the provisions described in Section E below.  The priorities for dividing funds among these categories are as follows: 

(sections 1 - 5 unchanged, new language becomes item 6 on page 15)

6.         In the event that the Legislature appropriates funds designated specifically for purposes such as faculty retention and recruitment, the Salary and Welfare committee, after consulting with the University Planning Council, and in consultation with University administration, will propose a process for the allocation of such funds and provide a rationale for the proposed allocation process to the Faculty Senate for approval. To the extent allowed by legislative intent, any proposed allocation process should both balance the various factors that can affect faculty morale, retention and recruitment and also respond to the priorities of the current situation.


* * * * *


At its May 19th meeting, the Faculty Senate approved the following revisions to BL7.8.1 of the Faculty Handbook : 


Membership.  The membership of the Academic Technology Committee shall be as follows:

a)   one representative from each of the following: Fairhaven College, College of Business and Economics, Huxley College of the Environment, Woodring College of Education, College of Fine and Performing Arts.

b)   two representatives each from the College of Humanities and Social Sciences and College of Sciences and Technology and;

c)     one representative from the library;

d)     the Vice-Provost for Information and Telecommunications (ex officio, non-voting);

e)     the Director of Center for Instructional Innovation (ex officio, non-voting);

f)       a member of the LAN Managers' group (ex officio, non-voting);

g)     a student chosen by the Associated Students Board of Directors for a one-year term;

h)     one faculty member appointed by the Senate for a one-year term.

If none of the members selected under a)-c) above are members of the Faculty Senate, then this member shall be a senator.  (remainder unchanged).