ABSTRACT of Faculty Senate Meeting May 16, 2005

·     Jim Stewart, known as President Pro Tem, following the Seating of the 2005-06 Senate, called the old Senate to order at 4:03 pm following Orientation.  New Senators were welcomed and approved minutes of May 2, 2005 and Standing Committee minutes.

·     Stewart reviewed the extensive Senate motions of 2004-05 and noted that the University budget as a whole will be a significant topic in 2005-06.  Stewart called for continued nominations for Ombuds.  James Loucky forwarded a report from the Bicycle Committee to the Executive.

·     2005-06 President Bill Lyne presented a Resolution Honoring Jim Stewart for his service which the Senate passed by acclamation.

·     University President Karen Morse applauded Stewart for his diplomacy and effectiveness.

·     Morse announced that Western had received matching grants from the legislature for Distinguished Professor awards of $250,000, and for a Graduate endowment of $25,000.  Endowment moneys and scholarships are used to enhance graduate fellowships. 

·     Morse lauded faculty efforts in expanding this year’s extensive Scholars Week.

·     Provost Bodman announced that the Strategic Action Planning Committee chaired by himself and Jeff Newcomer will join Senate discussions next week in anticipation of faculty input in redrafting the Plan

·     Senators discussed administrative review and a possible motion for the May 23rd meeting which would demand faculty participation in planning the tools of a review as well as participation in analysis of the evidence.

·     SEATING OF THE 2005-2006 Faculty Senate and Election of Officers.  Senators elected Bill Lyne, English, President of the 2005-06 Senate, who takes office on June 22, the first day of Summer Session.  The Executive Council will include:  Vice President and Parliamentarian:  Ira Hyman, Psychology;  Appointments and Elections:  Jeff Newcomer, Engineering Technology; Secretary: Lorraine Kasprisin, Woodring; At-Large: Laura Laffrado, English; Legislative Liaison: Sara Singleton, Political Science; and Past President, Jim Stewart, Physics Astronomy.  Senators then appointed members to Senate Standing Committees, and referred faculty to the Senate website at for committee charges.

·     In an Agenda item renamed “Faculty Caucus”, the Senate moved to a Committee of the Whole, at 5:35 pm. and moved to adjourn at 6:22 pm.


Appointments and Elections – Jeff Newcomer, Officer


Faculty Senate: 1 from College of Fine and Performing Arts, through 2006