ABSTRACT of Faculty Senate October 30, 2006

Ira Hyman, 2006-07 Faculty Senate President, called the Fall Quarter meeting. Senators accepted the Senate minutes of October 16, 2006, and Standing committee minutes.

§         Hyman encouraged the University to quickly distribute $250,000 allocated to remedy equity and compression issues following completion of the Haignere reports concerning gender and racial equity and salary.  UFWW representative Bill Lyne supported the allocation.  Lyne announced the Election of Officers will take place at the UFWW convention on November 15th at 3 pm in SL110.

§         Provost Bodman reported that the Higher Education Coordinating Board had approved the operating budget to the Governor’s office with the exception of recruitment and retention funding. 

§         Senators unanimously passed a motionthat the Senate endorses the proposal for the Creation of a Center for International Studies”.  Senators emphasized need for sufficient funding for a Director and assistants to serve students of International Programs and Exchanges and the international studies programs on campus.

§         Constituent Concerns requested:  1) varied white board markers in the Communications Facility, 2) that Academic Technology Committee review the university process in updating software in light of the reported difficulties with Version 7 of Blackboard; 3) that Canada House not be considered a viable teaching space; 4) that Student Life address concerns regarding the expanding use of the student test center; and 5) a compliment for Facilities’ swift response to noisy doors in Bond Hall.

§         Senators broke at 5:20 for a Faculty Caucus and adjourned at 5:55 p.m.


APPOINTMENTS AND ELECTIONS – Matthew Liao-Troth, Officer

To University Planning Council Fall Qtr:  Suzanne Krogh, Elem Ed

To Academic Coordinating Commission Fall Qtr:  Diana Wright, History

To Academic Technology Committee, 2-yr term, Joanne Carney, Woodring


Senate Committee on Evaluation of Administrators9 tenured faculty from the Colleges

Employee Training and Development Council1 faculty (any area)