ABSTRACT of Faculty Senate April 23, 2007

Ira Hyman, 2006-07 Faculty Senate President, called the Senate meeting to order at 4:04 pm. Senators accepted Senate minutes of April 9th and Standing committee minutes. 

§       Hyman announced that a shorter Timetable will be printed for faculty next year, without duplicating information already listed in the Bulletin. 

§         Senators welcomed Ted Pratt, Dean of Students, who discussed Western’s proactive safety measures in the event of an emergency.  When there is concern about “odd” student behavior, Pratt encourages faculty to call his office at x3450.

§         President Morse confirmed that Western’s campus police along with the Bellingham police, sheriff’s office, and Skagit and Whatcom County agencies had carried out training in January for an “active shooter” emergency response. 

§         Senators heard John Lawson, Vice Provost for Information Technology, describe the Public Information Emergency Response system (PIER) as part of his inventory of notification systems that could be implemented in an emergency.  Lawson also explained “password aging” as a security feature in which passwords must be changed every four months. 

§         President Morse thanked Sherry Burkey, External Affairs, Paula Rustan, Executive Director, University Planning & Budget, as well as some deans and faculty, for their work on the budget. In addition to state funding of the 1.6% salary carry forward, 3.2% and 2.0% salary increases for Faculty and Exempt Staff were funded (a mandated $639,000 of tuition revenue will also be used to meet the salary amounts).  Decision packages were funded, and a General Contractors’ Construction Management bill was passed that will allow future buildings to be built in a more efficient manner.

§         Senators proposed that the Executive Council review the Dishonesty Policy forwarded by the Academic Coordinating Commission. 

§         Constituent Concerns include continued complaints that noise and other pollution from leaf blowers interfere with classes.

§         Senators adjourned at 5:55 p.m.


APPOINTMENTS AND ELECTIONS – Matthew Liao-Troth, Officer

To the Faculty Senate: Chuck Lambert, Woodring, replacing Ray Wolpow through 2008.

To Academic Coordinating Commission:  Louis Barrett, Physics-Astronomy, for Jim Stewart, Spring Qtr

Vacancies:  Faculty Development Grants, 4 faculty candidates

Academic Coordinating Commisson:  Area D, E, G and an At-Large from A, B or C. 1 rep to UPC.

University Planning Council: 1 from Area B (or A or C)

Senate Library Committee:  3, one from the Library

Committee on Grievance and Sanctions:  5 faculty, tenured

Academic Technology Committee:  6 faculty, all areas