ABSTRACT of Faculty Senate May 21, 2007

Ira Hyman, 2006-07 President Pro Tem called the 2007-2008 Senate to order at 4:02 pm and held roll call.  Senators accepted Senate minutes of May 7, and Standing committee minutes.  Senators heard reports from Chairs of Senate Standing Committees and postponed Academic Technology minutes in order to hear details of proposed restructuring plans.

§    Senators elected officers for the 2007-2008 Senate as follows:  Jeff Newcomer, President; Matthew Liao-Troth, Vice President and Parliamentarian; John Purdy, Legislative Liaison; Joan Stevenson, Secretary; Mick Cunningham, Appointments & Elections, Dan Larner, At-Large.  Newcomer assumes Presidency on the first day of Summer School, June 26, 2007. Bill Lyne will continue as UFWW Representative. 

§    Senators applauded after hearing a resolution honoring President Hyman for his service as 2006-2007 Senate President.

§    Hyman and Newcomer reported to the Senate on a planned presentation to the President’s Planning and Resource Council which will focus on achieving the goals of the Strategic Plan, including ways to prioritize budget requests.

§    President Morse thanked the leadership and commended the positive attitude and good relationship that has prevailed in the Senate.  Provost Bodman endorsed the appreciation. 

§    Bodman reported that 206 FTE students out of the 446 FTE newly funded students are presently in programs on campus.  The 240 FTE remaining (a biennial number) put us right in line with our strategic plan of 120 FTE growth per year.  The funding for the 206 FTE that will be shifted to State support will not affect the funds available to the departments from summer school funding.

§    Bill Lyne, UFWW, and Senators commented that legislative plans to reinvestigate performance contracts ought to be broadened beyond the mere production of degrees; and that faculty are already extensively reviewed.

§    Faculty are invited to call x3420 ahead of time if leaf blowers, lawn mowers or other equipment will disturb teaching.  Constituent Concerns included 1) 5-ton trucks that pull up in front of the Chemistry Building; damaged bricks could be dangerous to students walking to class.

Senators adjourned at 5:40 p.m., and will attend the President’s Dinner in the Solarium at 6:15.


APPOINTMENTS AND ELECTIONS – Matthew Liao-Troth, Officer

The 2007-2008 Senate elected the following faculty to its Standing Committees:

To Academic Coordinating Commission (2007-2009) James Hearne,Computer Science; Roger Anderson, Biology, as Senator; Mark Kuntz, Theater; Robin Mathews, Huxley College; Yvonne Durham, Economics; Marsha Riddle-Buly, Elementary Education (Chris Ohana Fall Qtr).

To University Planning Council (2007-2010) Ira Hyman, Psychology;  Chris Wise, English; David Fewings, Finance & Marketing as Senator

To Senate Library Committee (2007-2010) Ron Helms  (Senator, 2 yr); Donna Packer, Library faculty; Wendy Wilhelm, Finance & Marketing

To  Standing Committee on Grievance (2007-2010).  Shaw Gynan, Modern  & Classical Languages; Kathleen Young, Anthropology; Kathleen Lundeen, English; Michael Meehan, Computer Science; Bob Keiper, Secondary Education

To Academic Technology Committee: Gary Bornzin, Fairhaven; Madge Gleeson; Art

To  Central Health & Safety Committee:  Brandi Row, PEHR.   Special thanks to Rudi Weiss, retiring, who served on Central Health & Safety Committee since 1993.

To Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender Concerns:  Craig Dunn, Management, thru 2009.