ABSTRACT of Faculty Senate May 5, 2008

Jeff Newcomer, 2007-08 Senate President called the Senate to order at 4:02 pm.  Senators accepted Senate minutes of April 21, 2008 and Standing Committee minutes. 

§    Newcomer reported that 1) EEOC and the attorney general will review the Opportunity Appointments policy prior to a final approval; 2) bicycle and skateboard policies are under review and faculty are invited to send comments to Gayle Shipley; 3) the Performance Agreement committee has created subgroups to deal with “quality”, “throughput” and “meeting State’s needs”.

§    Provost Murphy reported that a recent letter from the accrediting committee was complimentary to the collegiate units and final findings will be delivered in July.  Murphy added that the accrediting association is in the midst of proposing changes in their operations. 

§    Murphy reported that the three known groups that have been given permission to demonstrate on campus include a guerilla theater, a right-to-life group, and demonstrators for the right to bear arms on campus.

§    Bill Lyne, UFWW President, reported that bargaining will resume on May 12th and 13th, and that unless a contract is agreed upon shortly there will little time to digest and ratify it this year.  Lyne reported that faculty are galvanized to wait for a good contract whose repercussions may be felt for years to come.

§    Senators discussed the implications of conversion to Microsoft Office 2007.

§    Senators conducted straw votes on language in the revised Academic Coordinating Commission charge prior to a vote of approval at next week’s meeting.

§    Constituent concerns: the Creative Writing faculty expressed concerns about violent content and verbal outbursts in student writing classes. The faculty have followed university procedures but felt the Senate should be made aware of this development. 

§    Senators moved to a Faculty caucus at 6 p.m. and returned for adjournment at 6:19 pm.


APPOINTMENTS AND ELECTIONS – Contact:  Mick Cunningham or the Senate (Fax: 3100)

The number preceding the committee indicates remaining vacancies. 

The following faculty have been nominated to Senate Standing Committees:  2-Academic Coordinating CommissionRoger Thompson, History (C); Billie Lindsey, PEHR (B);   Julie Helling (Fairhaven), Kristi Tynan (E, At-Large).  2-University Planning CouncilDavid Carroll, Woodring, Scott Pearce, Liberal Studies (as Senator).  4-Academic Technology Committee:  Chris Suczek (CST), Lauren McClanahan (Woodring).  0-Faculty Development Grants Allison Griffen, English; Juliet Crider, Geology; David Curley, Liberal Studies; Robert Lopresti, Library.

1-Faculty Legislative Liaison


The following faculty have been nominated to Academic Coordinating Commission Standing Committees:   0-AdmissionsChris Sandvig, Decision Sciences; William Smith,English; Nicholas Wonder, Finance & Marketing;  4-Assessment of Teaching & Learning: Chuck Lambert, Woodring.

2-General Education Requirements Committee:  Maria Paredes Mendez, MC&L; Lorrie Brilla, PEHR; Matthew Miller, ElemEd, Sean Murphy, Liberal Studies. Perry Fizzano, Computer Science; Elsi Vassdal-Ellis, Art; David Rossiter, Huxley. 2-Graduate Council:  Kate Wayne, Woodring.  0-Honors Board:  Jeanne Armstrong, Library; Seth Feinberg, Sociology.  0-International Programs Advisory BoardSusan DeBari, Geology; Michael Karlberg, Communication; Todd Koetje, Anthropology; Chris Wise, English

Other Vacancies:  2-Student Academic Grievance Board:-Raquel Montoya-Lewis (thru 2011)

2- Academic Honesty Board (1 yr):  Jackie Baker-Sennett

1-Academic Fee Committee.

2- Judicial Appeals Board.  

4-Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender Concerns Committee

4-Student Publications Council

1-Parking Appeals Board.