ABSTRACT of the Faculty Senate Meeting – June 6, 2011

Scott Pearce, Faculty Senate President, called ROLL CALL of the 2011-2012 Faculty Senate after calling the meeting to order at 4:05 pm.  Senators accepted the minutes of May 16, 2011, the special Senate and UPRC joint meeting minutes of May 25, 2011.  Standing Committee minutes’ approval included UPRC motions and ACC motions and resolution.

·         President pro tem Pearce thanked the members of the 2010-11 Executive Committee and those whose terms on the Senate are ending.  Pearce reported on results of faculty governance in the colleges which have been posted to the Senate website.  Senators passed a Resolution honoring Scott Pearce for his service.

·         President Shepard reported that results from the conference budget indicated that legislators could not ignore the historical underfunding of Western.  Shepard will attempt to cover the 3% cut to classified staff if current legislation will allow it.

·         Provost Riordan reported remarkable participation and enthusiasm for the candidates for CST Dean and CIS Director and expects final decisions will be made in the next couple of weeks.

·         Riordan expressed strong interest in a Western conversation focused on interdisciplinary and liberal education, and suggested this was a discussion that ought to take place outside of a budget cutting mentality.

·         Marsha Riddle Buly, confirmed that we are still seeking faculty member willing to serve as FLR for 2011-2012 and discussed with the Senate possible strategies on how to advocate for higher education with legislators.

·         Steven Garfinkle, UFWW President, encouraged faculty devoted to the future of the State to write letters and emails from home to legislators in support of higher education and to register with Western Advocates to get updates on current issues.  Garfinkle emphasized that it is the coalition of its stakeholders that has enabled Western to send a unique message to the legislature on behalf of higher education.  Garfinkle added that having “dodged a bullet” this year should not lead us to think we are “bulletproof.”

·         Senators passed a MOTION to endorse the final report from the Graduate Strategic Advisory Committee, represented by Susan Mancuso and Roger Anderson, co-chairs.  Senators suggested that the report can be a creative catalyst toward promoting graduate programs both on and off campus. 

·         SEATING OF THE 2011-12 FACULTY SENATE completed after the election of officers.  After hearing no other nominations from the floor Senators passed a MOTION to appoint the following faculty to the 2011-2012 Senate Executive Council:  Karen Stout, President (effective June 21);  David Bover, VP and Parliamentarian; Kathleen Saunders, Secretary; Jackie Caplan-Auerbach, Appointments & Elections Officer, Spencer Anthony-Cahill, Representative At Large.  

·         Senators heard and discussed reports from Jeff Newcomer, Chair of UPRC and Roger Anderson, Chair of ACC, and received reports from the remaining Standing Committees.

·         Constituent Concerns: Senators (Saunders and Larner) will seek the source of rumors that Bill McKibben, nationally known environmental writer, may have been requested to limit his remarks on local environmental controversies at the behest of an unnamed "University" official.  Senators also heard concerns that: 1) the former academic space devoted to the Map Library was being converted to retail space; 2) a higher profile location for the Huxley College Dean’s office could better serve Huxley College students and staff; 3) information is needed on the file sharing website on which students are storing exams,

·         Senators Adjourned at 5:47 pm and prepared to attend the President’s Dinner for the Senate.


Appointments and Elections:   Jackie Caplan-Auerbach, 2011-12 Officer


To UPRC from CST (2):  Bernard Housen, Geology; from CHSS (2) Ira Hyma, Psychology

To Senate Library Committee:  Stan Goto, Woodring; Cara Jaye; CFPA; Doug Clark, CST

To Senate Academic Technology Committee:  Elizabeth Stephen, Library; Deepinder Bajwa, CBEST; Sarah Campbell, CHSS; Gary Bornzin, Fairhaven; Bruce Hamilton, CFPA

Vacancies One Faculty Legislative Representative 2011-2012 (travel stipend and release time provided).


Senate Executive Council approves the following as candidates to be submitted to the provost for:

Judicial Appeals Board Diane Johnson, Kathleen Lundeen, Gail Coulter

Student Academic Grievance Board Dan Warner, Brandon Dupont

Academic Honesty Board  Jennifer Devenport, Petra Fiero, Ozan Sula

Faculty Development Grants Tina DuRocher Schudlick, Timothy Keiper, Leza Madsden, Keith Russell, LGBT Advocacy Council: Garth Amundson, Raine Dozier, Carol Guess, Craig Dunn, Bridget Kelley, Kristen Larson

Scholastic Standing committee – a subcommittee of Admissions: Jonathan Miran, McNeel Jantzen, Diane Johnson,  Shaw Gynan thru 2014, Dan Hagen thru 2014.