Global Learning Faculty-led Programs

Global Learning Faculty-led Programs are courses designed by WWU faculty for WWU students and WWU credit offered throughout the year all over the world. Study a specific subject, a language, culture, and/or participate in field studies or service learning as part of your Western experience with Global Learning Faculty-led Programs! Below is an overview of our upcoming programs.

Please see the Education Abroad webpage to view information about all programs and to begin the application process.


Spring 2017

China

Changing China: Culture, Community, and Citizenship
SOC 437/PLSC 437 (15 credits)

Contacts:

Baozhen Luo
AH 531
360-650-2203
baozhen.luo@wwu.edu

Kristen Parris
AH 422
360-650-4873
Kristen.Parris@wwu.edu

Learn More


Back to Top


Summer 2017

Bali and East Timor

Culture & Water in Bali and East Timor
ANTH 437 (14 credits)

Contacts:

Paul James
AH 309
360-650-2199
Paul.James@wwu.edu

Learn More


Canada

Redfish School of Change: Sustainability in the Salish Sea
ENVS 498C (3 credits), ENVS 491 (5 credits), ENVS 498D (4 credits)

Contacts:

Nick Stanger
AH 201
360-650-2203
Nick.Stanger@wwu.edu

Ryan Hilperts
250-858-7231
ryanh@greenlearning.ca

Learn More


ChinaChina

Business in China: Entrepreneurship Edition
MGMT 337 (4 cr)

Contacts:

Sophie Kong
PH 425
360-650-4237
Sophie.Kong@wwu.edu

Art Sherwood
PH 41
360-650-4146
Art.Sherwood@wwu.edu

Learn More

EquadorEcuador

Global Learning in Ecuador
HNRS 105 (4 credits):
HNRS 212 (4 credits)

Contacts:

Scott Linneman
CH 03
360-650-3446
Scott.Linneman@wwu.edu

Amy Carbajal
MH 216B
360-650-7967
Amy.Carbajal@wwu.edu

Learn More


EquadorGermany

Berlin Art Now
ART 337B (6 credits)

Contacts:

Sebastian Mendes
FI 107
360-650-3673
Sebastian.Mendes@wwu.edu
Website: www.mendess.com

Werner Klotz
FI 203
360-650-3660
Werner.Klotz@wwu.edu
Website: www.werner-klotz.com

Learn More


Germany and Switzerland

Design Abroad
DSGN 375 (7 credits)

Contacts:

Kacey Morrow
FI 106B
360-650-3661
Website: www.kaceymorrow.com

Brittany Schade
FI 109
360-650-7705
Website: www.brittanyschade.com

Learn More


travelGreece

Sustainable Ithaca: Applied Studies in Mediterranean Sustainable Development
ENVS 437P
(8 credits)
Contact:

Nicholas Zaferatos, PhD

Environmental Studies 444
360-650-7660
nicholas.zaferatos@wwu.edu

Learn More



Greece

Its Literature and Culture
ENG 337
(6 credits)

Contacts:

Nicholas Margaritis
HU 281
360-650-2537
Nicholas.Margaritis@wwu.edu

Learn More


Guatemala

Building Cross-Cultural Connections
CSD 437
(10 credits)

Contact:

Michael Fraas
AIC 374
360-650-7536
Michael.Fraas@wwu.edu

Learn More


India

India- Himalaya Cultures & Ecology: Field Program in Ladakh
FAIR 437B
(12 credits)

Contacts:

Charlie Ashbaugh
206-300-7857
cashbaugh@villagestudies.org

Julie Tate
jtmarie@gmail.com

Learn More


ItalyItaly

Ecogastronomy and Food Cultures of Italy
ENVS 497K
(8 credits)
Contacts:

Gigi Berandi
(Instructor)
AH 204
360-650-2106
Gigi.Berardi@wwu.edu 

Learn More


Italy

Arts of Italy
Art 394, Art 337p, A/Hi 337N, A/Hi 337p
(8 credits)

Contacts:

Cara Jaye
FI 125A
360-650-3739
Cara.Jaye@wwu.edu

Javier Berzal de Dios
FI 119
360-650-3733
Javier.BerzaldeDios@wwu.edu

Learn More


Italy

The City and Everyday Life
ENVS 437D
(8 credits)
Contact:

Nabil Kamel
AH 203
360-650-2440
Nabil.Kamel@wwu.edu

Learn More


Japan

Tokyo KCP
EAST 430
(6 credits)
INTL 205/305
(4 credits)
Contact:

Massimiliano Tomasi
MH 222C
360-650-3339
Massimiliano.Tomasi@wwu.edu

Learn More


MexicoMexico

Food Cultures, Histories, Activism - San Miguel de Allende
ENVS 437I
(4 credits)

Contacts:

Gigi Berardi
(Instructor)
AH 204
360-650-2106
Gigi.Berardi@wwu.edu

Dan Nessly
(Assistant)
Daniel.Nessly@wwu.edu

Learn More


MexicoMexico

Study Abroad in Guanajuato. World Heritage City.
SPAN 301, SPAN 302, SPAN 332 (12 credits total)

Contacts:

Blanca Aranda
MH 128
360-650-2528
Blanca Aranda@wwu.edu

Luis Portugal
MH 222B
360-650-4200
Luis.Portugal@wwu.edu

Learn More


MexicoMexico

Understanding and Supporting ELLs
ELL 437A
(5 credits), ELL 437C (4 credits)

Contacts:

Beth Dillard
360-650-3314
Beth.Dillard@wwu.edu

Learn More


MexicoMexico

TESOL in Queretaro
TESL 437b (TESL 421,
5 credits), TESL 437c (TESL 432, 2 credits), TESL 437d (TESL 435, 2 credits)

Contacts:

Trish Skillman
MH 305E
360-650-4699
Trish.Skillman@wwu.edu

Caleb Zilmer
MH 300
360-650-2578
Caleb.Zilmer@wwu.edu

Learn More


PeruPeru

Ecology in the Peruvian Andes
ESCI 498D
(10 credits)

Contacts:

John All
ES 321
360-650-7630
John.All@wwu.edu

Learn More



Back to Top


Fall 2017

NepalNepal

Biocultural Diversity in Nepal
FAIR 437E
(15 credits)

Contacts:

Charlie Ashbaugh
206-3000-7857
cashbaugh@villagestudies.org

Thomas Lloyd
Thomas.Lloyd@wwu.edu

Learn More


Ireland

Global Literatures: Defining Ireland
ENG 282
(5 credits)

Contacts:

Julie Dugger
HU 341
360-650-4989
Julie.Dugger@wwu.edu

Learn More


Back to Top

Winter 2018

IrelandIreland

Intl. Adult Education Service Learning
AHE 437
(5 credits)
Contact:

Dr. Debora Nelli
Miller Hall 416-D
360-650-3190
Deb.Nelli@wwu.edu

Learn More


KenyaKenya

Kenya Social Justice & Society
INTL 437H
(15 credits)
Contact:

Liz Mogford
AH 524
360-650-3002
Liz.Mogford@wwu.edu

Steve Bennetto

Learn More


Thailand

Indigenous Knowledge & Sustainability in Thailand
FAIR 437A
(15 credits)
Contacts:

Shirley Osterhaus 
Shirley.Osterhaus@wwu.edu

Learn More

Back to Top



Page Updated 06.14.2017