Faculty & Staff

Acting Chair Fall 2014 and Winter 2015

Steven Garfinkle

Steven Garfinkle (2001)

Professor

Bond Hall 334
360-650-3456
Steven.Garfinkle@wwu.edu

BA, Tufts University; MA, University of London; PhD, Columbia University

Teaching/Research Areas: Ancient Near East and Ancient Mediterranean

Chair (on leave Fall 2014 and Winter 2015)

  • Kevin Leonard

    Kevin Leonard

    Western Washington University
    Bellingham, WA 98225-9061
    Bond Hall 360

    Telephone: 360-650-3041
    Fax: 360-650-7789
    Kevin.Leonard@wwu.edu

Faculty

The department's tenured and tenure-track faculty, taken as a whole, examine much of human history and the globe. Most are actively engaged as scholars often presenting papers at conferences and authoring articles and books. They teach most of the courses for majors as well as GUR courses, and act as advisors for majors. These faculty members also provide service to the department, college, university, and profession by serving on committees and other activities such as offering special lectures for the larger Bellingham community.

  • Charles Anderson (2014)

    Assistant Professor

    Bond Hall 356
    360-650-3458
    Charles.Anderson@wwu.edu

    BA, Oberlin; MA, PhD, New York University

    Teaching/Research Areas: Middle East

  • Susan Costanzo

    Susan E. Costanzo (1993)

    Associate Professor

    Bond Hall 346
    360-650-3062
    Susan.Costanzo@wwu.edu

    BA, MA, PhD, Northwestern University

    Teaching/Research Areas: Russia, Europe

  • Cecilia Danysk

    Cecilia A. Danysk (1996)

    Associate Professor

    Bond Hall 340
    360-650-3816
    Cecilia.Danysk@wwu.edu

    BA, Concordia University; MA, PhD, McGill University

    Teaching/Research Area: Canada

  • Peter Diehl

    Peter D. Diehl (1992)

    Associate Professor

    Bond Hall 328
    360-650-3466
    Peter.Diehl@wwu.edu

    BA, Yale University; MA, PhD, University of California, Los Angeles

    Teaching/Research Areas: Medieval Europe, Religion

  • Susan Eurich

    Susan Amanda Eurich (1986)

    Professor

    Bond Hall 318
    360-650-3141
    Amanda.Eurich@wwu.edu

    BA, Portland State University; MA, PhD, Emory University

    Teaching/Research Areas: Early Modern Europe, France

  • Christopher Friday

    Christopher C. Friday (1992)

    Professor

    Bond Hall 326
    360-650-4862
    Christopher.Friday@wwu.edu

    BA, Lewis And Clark College; MA, PhD, University of California, Los Angeles

    Teaching/Research Areas: American Indian, Asian American, Pacific Northwest, Public History

  • Steven Garfinkle

    Steven Garfinkle (2001)

    Professor

    Bond Hall 334
    360-650-3456
    Steven.Garfinkle@wwu.edu

    BA, Tufts University; MA, University of London; PhD, Columbia University

    Teaching/Research Areas: Ancient Near East and Ancient Mediterranean

  • Jared Hardesty (2014)

    Assistant Professor

    Bond Hall 358
    360-650-3043
    Jared.Hardesty@wwu.edu

    BA, Ohio Northern University; MA, PhD, Boston College

    Teaching/Research Areas: Colonial America, Atlantic World, History of Slavery


  • Randall Jimerson

    Randall C. Jimerson (1994)

    Professor

    Bond Hall 324
    360-650-3139
    Rand.Jimerson@wwu.edu
    Website

    BA, Earlham College; MA, PhD, University of Michigan

    Teaching/Research Areas: Archival Administration, Information Management, US

  • Kevin Leonard

    Kevin A. Leonard (1997)

    Professor & Chair

    Bond Hall 360
    360-650-3041
    Kevin.Leonard@wwu.edu

    BA, Pomona College; MA, PhD, University of California, Davis

    Teaching/Research Areas: African American history, LGBT history, US West

  • lopez

    Ricardo Lopez (2008)

    Associate Professor

    Bond Hall 330
    360-650-2939
    Ricardo.Lopez@wwu.edu

    BA, National University of Colombia, Bogot; MA, Virginia Tech University; PhD, University of Maryland, College Park

    Teaching/Research Areas: Latin America, World History, Middle Class

  • George Mariz

    George Mariz (1970)

    Professor

    Director of the Honors Program

    Honors Program: College Hall 03
    360-650-3446
    George.Mariz@wwu.edu

    BA, MA, PhD, University of Missouri

    Teaching/Research Areas: Europe, Intellectual, Britain

  • Johann Neem

    Johann N. Neem (2004)

    Professor

    Bond Hall 332
    360-650-2511
    Johann.Neem@wwu.edu
    website: http://works.bepress.com/johann_neem/

    AB, Brown University; MA, PhD, University of Virginia

    Teaching/Research Areas: Early American Republic, Intellectual

  • Jennifer Seltz (2011)

    Assistant Professor

    Bond Hall 316
    360-650-2510
    Jennifer.Seltz@wwu.edu

    AB, Brown University; MA, PhD, University of Washington

    Teaching/Research Area: US History

  • Mart Stewart

    Mart A. Stewart (1992)

    Professor -- On Leave S 2014

    Bond Hall 320
    360-650-3455
    Mart.Stewart@wwu.edu

    BA, Willamette University; MA, Portland State University; PhD, Emory University

    Teaching/Research Areas: 19th Century U.S., Environmental History, History of Science

  • Roger Thompson

    Roger Thompson (2003)

    Professor -- On Leave WS 2014

    Bond Hall 354
    360-650-2342
    Roger.Thompson@wwu.edu

    BA, Stanford University; MA, PhD, Yale University

    Teaching/Research Areas: China

  • Diana Wright

    Diana E. Wright (1997)

    Associate Professor

    Bond Hall 338
    360-650-6874
    Diana.Wright@wwu.edu

    BA, MA, University of Michigan; PhD, University of Toronto

    Teaching/Research Area: Japan

  • Sarah Zimmerman

    Sarah Zimmerman (2012)

    Assistant Professor

    Bond Hall 356
    360-650-2967
    Sarah.Zimmerman@wwu.edu

    BA, Ohio University; MA, PhD, University of California, Berkeley

    Teaching/Research Area: Africa, Colonialism, Women & Gender

Lecturers

The Department of History is fortunate to have a group of dedicated, hard-working professionals who teach part time. These individuals teach largely lower-division survey courses and occasional upper-division courses. Their primary duties are related directly to teaching their classes. Because they are not here each quarter, students should look to tenured and tenure-track faculty regarding advising.

  • Tyler Cornelius (2012)

    Visiting Assistant Professor

    Bond Hall 348
    360-650-3095
    Tyler.Cornelius@wwu.edu

    BA, Western Washington University; MA, PhD,University of Michigan

    Teaching/Research Area: Pacific Northwest History, Environmental History, and American Indian History

  • Steve Cote (2014)

    Visiting Assistant Professor

    Bond Hall 356
    360-650-3458
    Stephen.Cote@wwu.edu

    BA, MA, University of Connecticut, PhD, University of California Davis

    Teaching/Research Areas: Latin America, Environmental History

  • Kevin Leonard

    Lily Fox (2013)

    Lecturer

    Bond Hall 344
    360-650-4954
    Lily.Fox@wwu.edu

    Degrees: BA, MA, Western Washington University

    Teaching/Research Area: U.S. History; 20th Century History

  • Tristan Goldman

    Tristan Goldman (2012)

    Visiting Assistant Professor

    Bond Hall 336
    360-650-2062
    Tristan.Goldman@wwu.edu

    BA, MA, PhD, University of Washington

    Teaching/Research Area: Ancient Mediterranean

  • Ed Mathieu

    Ed Mathieu (2013)

    Visiting Assistant Professor

    Bond Hall 352
    360-650-3053
    Ed.Mathieu@wwu.edu

    BA, University of Washington; MA, PhD, University of Michigan

    Teaching/Research Areas: Germany/Central Europe, Modern Europe, Religion, Gender

  • Hunter Price (2014)

    Visiting Assistant Professor

    Bond Hall 342
    360-650-3439
    Hunter.Price@wwu.edu

    Personal biography: https://wwu.academia.edu/HunterPrice

    BA, Furman University; MA, PhD, Ohio State University

    Teaching/Research Areas: Early U.S. Republic

Adjunct/Affiliate Faculty

These individuals work in other parts of the university but because of their regular teaching and other scholarly activities are associated with the department. They can sit on thesis committees and are good sources of advice in their areas of expertise.

  • Odette


    Odette Allen-Berg (2014)

    BH 314 MS 9061
    360-650-3465
    Odette.Allen@wwu.edu

    BA, Cornish College of the Arts; MA, History Archives and Records Management at Western Washington University

    Teaches History 525 Fall Quarter

    Teaching/Research Areas: Archival Management, History of Archives, Visual Documentation

  • Kitty Friesen (1993)

    AB 225, MS 9123
    360-733-1307
    Kitty.Friesen@wwu.edu

    Diploma in Conservation of Library and Archives Materials, Camberwell School of Art and Craft, London, UK

    Teaches History 534 Winter Quarter.

    Teaching/Research Areas: Preservation and Conservation of Library and Archives Materials

  • Elizabeth Joffrion

    Elizabeth Joffrion (2000)

    Affiliated Faculty
    Director of Heritage Resources, Western Washington University Libraries

    Wilson Library 673, MS 9103
    360-650-3283
    elizabeth.joffrion@wwu.edu

    BA, Lousiana State University; MLIS, University of Maryland; MA, University of New Orleans

    Teaches History 528 Reference, Access and Outreach, Spring Quarter

    Teaching/Research Areas: Archives, Special Collections, Cultural Heritage

  • Tony Kurtz

    Tony Kurtz (2006)

    AB 226, MS 9123
    360-650-3124
    Tony.Kurtz@wwu.edu

    BA English, MA History with a certificate in Archives & Records Management, Western Washington University

    Teaches History 532 Winter Quarter

    Teaching/Research Areas: Archives & Records Management

  • Ruth Steele (2009)

    AB225, MS 9123
    360-650-7747
    Ruth.Steele@wwu.edu

    MA (Hons) History, University of Edinburgh; MA History with a certificate in Archives & Records Management, Western Washington University

    Teaches History 530 Winter Quarter

    Teaching/research areas: Arrangement and Description of Archives

Professors Emeriti

  • Leonard Helfgott

    Leonard M. Helfgott (1970-2012)

    Professor Emeritus


    Leonard.Helfgott@wwu.edu

    book

    BA, MA, PhD, University of Maryland

    Teaching/Research Areas: Middle East, Europe

  • Harry Ritter

    Harry R. Ritter (1969-2010)

    Professor Emeritus

    Harry.Ritter@wwu.edu

    BA, University Of Arizona; MA, PhD, University of Virginia

    Teaching/Research Area: Modern Central Europe

  • Henry Schwarz

    Henry G. Schwarz (1969-1994)

    Professor Emeritus

    Henry.Schwartz@wwu.edu

    BA, MA, PhD, University of Wisconsin-Madison

    Teaching/Research Areas: Modern/Contemporary Chinese, Mongolian Studies, Uyghur Studies, East Asian Studies

  • Louis Truschel

    Louis W. Truschel (1970-2010)

    Professor Emeritus

    LWmTruschel@comcast.net

    BA, Pacific Lutheran University; MA, PhD, Northwestern University

    Teaching/Research Areas: Africa, Modern Europe, WW II

  • Donald Whisenhunt

    Donald W. Whisenhunt (1991-2003)

    Professor Emeritus

    Donald.Whisenhunt@wwu.edu

    BA, McMurry College; MA, PhD, Texas Tech University

    Retired and moved out of state.

    Teaching/Research Areas: US, 1930s

Administrative Staff

Page Updated 10.21.2014