Cost and Registration
All Independent Learning programs are fully self-supporting, receiving no
funds from the State Legislature. Therefore, tuition and fees for courses
are different than tuition charged for campus programs. Fees are subject to
change as the result of action by the Washington State Legislature or by Western’s
Board of Trustees.
Reduced tuition programs such as state employee tuition waivers, Western Grant and tuition waivers do not apply.
Tuition is due at the time of registration. WWU Students check your Student Account for charges upon confirmation of registration.
Students not currently admitted to WWU include payment with your registration form for Self-paced courses. Term-based course tuition will be charged to the student account upon confirmation of space availability and enrollment.
Agency or institutional purchase orders are accepted for tuition
Tuition does not include textbooks.
How to Register
|Enrollment Deadline||Start of quarter||None - enroll anytime|
|Format||Course delivered on the internet via Canvas
||Web enhanced course that is a one-on-one interaction with the instructor|
Term-based course deadlines match WWU’s quarterly start/end dates.
|Students may register at anytime for Self-paced courses. Courses will be registered on a student's WWU transcript at the time of registration based on the following dates:
Fall: August 1- November 15
Winter: November 15 - February 28
Spring: March 1 - April 30
Summer: May 1 - July 31
|Summer Quarter||Term-based courses run through
|Important Summer Financial Aid Information for students taking Summer Quarter Classes
[click here for information]
|Tuition|| $250 per credit
Fall 2012 through Spring 2014
Summer 2013 Tuition & Fee Schedule
| $131 per credit Fall 2013 to Summer 2014
$25 nonrefundable fee each quarter
|Refunds||WWU refund deadlines apply.||Full refund less registration fee available within 30 days of enrollment.|
| WWU students with a registration appointment may enroll thru Web4U.
Summer Only - Term-based Courses run through Summer Session
|WWU students with an active MyWestern account may register using the
IL Registration E-Form. Upon registration tuition charges will be added to your student account and is due immediately.
|Registration for Students NOT admitted to WWU|
Download and complete the registration form and submit to the Independent Learning office along with your payment in one of the following ways:
Student Business Office
Old Main 110
Registrations only, please.
WWU Cashier - Extended Ed
Western Washington University
516 High Street, MS 9004
Bellingham, WA 98225
Financial Aid (Applies only to WWU Students)
Independent Learning classes are fee-based courses that are charged a different fee rate than on-campus courses. Although students may use the credit from independent learning classes to fulfill satisfactory academic progress, the tuition for the classes will be in addition to on campus tuition.
Courses will be charged to the student account and will be paid for by financial aid after on campus tuition has been paid. If you have extra monies left over in your package for books or living expenses this will effect the balance of your aid.
Students who currently receive or anticipate receiving any financial aid from Western must complete and have grades submitted by the end of the registered quarter to assure continued eligibility (SAP) for financial aid.
Self-Sustaining tuition courses do not qualify for Western Grant or Tuition Waiver funding. If you have concerns about your aid eligibiligy or want more
information about taking Independent Learning courses and using financial
aid visit the Financial Aid website.
Term-based courses follow the schedule of WWU’s quarter.
Check the Important Dates & Deadlines on the Registrar's Office website.
No refund will be made after 30 days from the date of registration. The $25 registration fee is nonrefundable. If assignments have been submitted there will be service fees withheld.
Extensions (Self-paced courses only)
Initial registration fees cover a period of six months from the month of registration. A $50 fee enables the student to receive a three month extension of time. Only one extension is allowed.
Textbooks and Supplemental Materials
Cost of textbooks, articles and supplemental materials vary widely from course to course. The course syllabus lists the required reading and materials.