RESEARCH INTERESTS of FACULTY and EMERITUS FACULTY
Note: AIC = Academic Instruction Center
Rob Bedi (2008) Associate Professor
B.A., M.A., Simon Fraser University; Ph.D., University of British Columbia

Research Interests: Counseling/psychotherapy relationship, counseling/psychotherapy processes and outcome, alcohol and other drug counseling, career counseling, and depression. AIC 490; 650-3982; E-mail: Rob.Bedi@wwu.edu

Christina A. Byrne (1997) Associate Professor 
B.S., Virginia Commonwealth University; M.S., Ph.D., University of Georgia

Research Interests: Psychological trauma, intimate partner violence. AIC 474; 650-7945; E-mail: Christina.Byrne@wwu.edu; Webpage

Jeff Carroll (2012) Assistant Professor
B.S., Ph.D. University of British Columbia

Research Interests: Physiological psychology. AIC 592; 650-2928; E-mail: Jeff.Carroll@wwu.edu

Alex Czopp (2008) Associate Professor
B.A., St. Mary's College of Maryland; M.S., Ph.D., University of Kentucky

Research Interests: Stereotyping, prejudice, discrimination. AIC 192; 650-3573; E-mail: Alex.Czopp@wwu.edu; Webpage

Jennifer Devenport (2003) Associate Professor
B.A., Boise State University; M.S., Ph.D., Florida International University; MLS, University of Nebraska

Research Interests: Psychology and law; factors influencing juror decision-making such as expert psychological testimony, cross-examination, eyewitness identification evidence. AIC 488; 650-2356. E-mail: Jennifer.Devenport@wwu.edu

Dale L. Dinnel (1986) Professor
B.S., M.A.T., M.A., Ph.D., University of Nebraska

Research Interests: Cognitive processes in the teaching and learning of mathematics and science; cultural variations in social phobias, self-concept, and achievement motivation. AIC 182; 650-3522; E-mail: dale.dinnel@wwu.edu; Webpage

Tina Du Rocher Schudlich (2006) Associate Professor
B.A., University of Michigan; M.A., Ph.D., University of Notre Dame

Research Interests: Developmental psychopathology; parent-child relationship; marital conflict, parental psychopathology, and their interactions with children's adjustment; parent-child emotion regulation. AIC 476; 650-7636; E-mail: Tina.Schudlich@wwu.edu; Webpage

Lena K. Ericksen, Senior Instructor
B.A., University of Utah; M.A., California State Univerisity, Sacramento, Ph.D., University of California, Davis

AIC 184; 650-6870; E-mail: Lena.Ericksen@wwu.edu; Webpage

Janet Finlay (1999) Associate Professor 
M.S., University of British Columbia ; Ph.D., University of British Columbia

Research Interests: Neurobiology of schizophrenia. AIC 572; 650-6717; E-mail: janet.finlay@wwu.edu

Deborah Kirby Forgays (1994) Professor
B.A., M.Ed., Ph.D., University of Vermont

Research Interests: Women's health issues, program evaluation of court interventions, females and anger across development. AIC 588; 650-6510; E-mail: Deborah.Forgays@wwu.edu; Webpage

Rebecca Goodvin (2007) Associate Professor
B.A., Gonzaga University; M.A., Ph.D., University of Nebraska

Research Interests: Social, emotional, and social cognitive development in early childhood, self-concept development, attachment theory, parent-child relationships and communication, early intervention programs. AIC 496; 650-3575; E-mail: Rebecca.Goodvin@wwu.edu; Webpage

James Graham (2006) Associate Professor
B.A., Purdue University; M.A., Pepperdine University; Ph.D., Texas A & M University

Research Interests: Adaptive processes in romantic relationships, same-sex couples, romantic love, measurement, multivariate statistics. AIC 590; 650-3177; E-mail: Jim.Graham@wwu.edu; webpage

Jeffrey W. Grimm (2001) Professor
B.A., Whitman College; M.S., Ph.D., Washington State University

Research Interests: Animal models of drug taking and drug seeking, neurobiology of drug taking and drug seeking. AIC 586; 650-3160; E-mail: Jeff.Grimm@wwu.edu; Webpage

Diana Gruman (2003) Associate Professor
B.A., Whitman College; M.Ed., Western Washington University, Ph.D., University of Washington

Research Interests: Risk and protective factors related to child development; efficacy of school counseling preventative interventions; school counselor professional development. AIC 472; 650-2221; E-mail: Diana.Gruman@wwu.edu

Todd Haskell (2006) Associate Professor
B.A., Dartmouth College; Ph.D., University of Southern California

Research Interests: Language, embodied cognition, problem solving, science education. AIC 486; 650-2720; E-mail: Todd.Haskell@wwu.edu; Webpage

Ira E. Hyman, Jr. (1991) Professor
B.A., Duke University; M.A., Ph.D., Emory University

Research Interests: Memory, cognitive psychology, social cognition. AIC 582; 650-3519; E-mail: Ira.Hyman@wwu.edu; Webpage

Kelly J. Jantzen (2007) Associate Professor
B.A., Ph.D., Simon Fraser University

Research Interests: Cognitive neuroscience. AIC 584; 650-3596; E-mail: Kelly.Jantzen@wwu.edu; Webpage

McNeel Jantzen (2007) Assistant Professor
B.A., M.A., Ph.D., Florida Atlantic University

Research Interests: Cognition, speech perception, language acquisition. AIC 580; 650-2247; E-mail: McNeel.Jantzen@wwu.edu; Webpage

Jeff King (2007) Associate Professor
B.A., University of Oklahoma; M.S., Ph.D., Pennsylvania State University

Research interests: Cross-cultural psychology. AIC 482; 650-3574; E-mail: Jeffrey.King@wwu.edu; Webpage

Barbara Lehman (2005) Associate Professor
B.A., Drew University; M.A., Ph.D., Claremont Graduate University

Research Interests: Applied social and health psychology, childhood family environment and health, research methods and statistics. E-mail: Barbara.Lehman@wwu.edu; Webpage

Kristi Lemm (2000) Associate Professor
B.A., Columbia University; M.S., Ph.D., Yale University

Research Interests: Social cognition; attitudes and behavior. AIC 498; 650-3187; E-mail: Kristi.Lemm@wwu.edu; Webpage

Lucy Lewis, Assistant Professor
AIC 484; 650-2435; E-mail: Lucy.Lewis@wwu.edu
Julie Major, Senior Instructor
B.S., University of Washington, M.A., Psy.D., Indiana University of
Pennsylvania

Research Interests: Clinical psychology, behavioral medicine. AIC 578; 650-7636; E-mail: majorja@cc.wwu.edu

Adriana Manago (2012) Assistant Professor 
B.S., West Virginia University; M.A., San Jose State University, Ph.D. University of California Los Angeles

Research Interests: Developmental Psychology. AIC 190; 650-7943; E-mail: Adriana.Manago@wwu.edu; Webpage

Mike Mana (1999) Associate Professor 
B.S., Washington State University; M.S., Ph.D., University of British Columbia

Research Interests: Neural substrates of cognition; stress and aging; behavioral pharmacology. AIC 592; 650-7311; E-mail: Mike.Mana@wwu.edu

Kate McLean (2007) Associate Professor
B.A., Mills College; Ph.D., University of California Santa Cruz

Research interests: Identity development in adolescence and adulthood, autobiographical memory, narrative, personality.
AIC 180; 650-3570; E-mail: Kate.McLean@wwu.edu; Webpage

Catherine Riordan Professor

AIC 494; 650-3991; E-mail: Catherine.Riordan@wwu.edu

Jacqueline Rose (2008) Assistant Professor
B.A., University of Calgary, M.A. Queen's University; Ph.D., University of Notre Dame

Research Interests: Physiological psychology. AIC 576; 650-6421; E-mail: Jackie.Rose@wwu.edu

Cristina Sampaio (2006) Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Research Interests: Mechanisms and processes of memory, interactions of memory with knowledge, representations, phenomenal experience, memory errors, memory biasing processes, and metacognition. AIC 478; 650-3169; E-mail: Cristina.Sampaio@wwu.edu; Webpage

David N. Sattler (2000) Professor
B.A., San Diego State University; M.A., Ph.D., Michigan State University

Research Interests: Social psychology, international response and recovery following disasters, disaster stress and preparedness, environmental issues, small group research, social dilemmas. AIC 578; 650-3525; E-mail: David.Sattler@wwu.edu; Webpage

Larry Symons (2000) Associate Professor and Department Chair
B.A., M.A., University of British Columbia; Ph.D., University of Western Ontario

Research Interests: Face perception, perception of another person's direction of gaze, shape from shading, tactile spatial perception, motion aftereffect. AIC 440; 650-4019; E-mail: symonsl@cc.wwu.edu; Webpage

Anne Tietjen (1990) Instructor
B.A., Occidental College, Ph.D., Cornell  University

Research Interests: Clinical counseling, abnormal psychology. AIC 166, 650-22256; E-mail: Anne.Tietjen@wwu.edu

Joseph E. Trimble (1978) Distinguished University Professor
B.A., Waynesburg University; M.A., University of New Hampshire; Ph.D., University of Oklahoma; RF, Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study, Harvard University

Research Interests: cross-cultural psychology; indigenous psychology; ethics of conducting field based research with ethnocultural communities; meta-analysis of the ethnic and cultural mental health literature; multicultural counseling and psychotherapy; and stress and coping in indigenous communities. AIC 594; 650-3058; E-mail: joseph.trimble@wwu.edu Webpage

EMERITUS FACULTY
Stephen L. Carmean (1964) Professor Emeritus
B.A., M.A., Ph.D., University of Illinois

Research Interests: Perception, thinking, chaos theory, cognitive psychology. Webpage

George T. Cvetkovich (1969) Professor Emeritus
B.A., Youngstown State University; M.A., Akron State University; Ph.D., Kansas State University

Research Interests: Social psychology, environmental and population psychology,
cross-cultural psychology.

Peter J. Elich (1961) Professor Emeritus
B.A., University of Washington; M.Ed., Western Washington State College; Ph.D., University of Oregon

Research Interests: Education, human learning, developmental, environmental studies

Frederick W. Grote, Jr. (1970) Associate Professor Emeritus
B.A., Dartmouth College; Ph.D., University of North Carolina

Research Interests: Psychology of child rearing, child psychology and social issues.

Susanna A. Hayes (1990) Associate Professor Emeritus
M.S., Loyola University; M.Ed., University of Arizona; Ph.D., University of Michigan 

Research Interests: School and cross-cultural counseling. E-mail: hayes@cc.wwu.edu

Ronald A. Kleinknecht (1970) Professor Emeritus
B.A., M.S., Ph.D., Washington State University

Research Interests: Anxiety disorders, phobias and avoidance of medical treatment. E-mail: Ronald.Kleinknecht@wwu.edu

Arleen C. Lewis (1987) Professor Emeritus 
B.A., Utah State University; Ph.D., University of Nebraska

Research Interests: School counseling, gender-related counseling issues including counseling with gay and lesbian clients. AIC 472; 650-3523; E-mail: Arleen.Lewis@wwu.edu; Webpage

Louis G. Lippman (1966) Professor Emeritus
B.A., Stanford University; M.A., Ph.D., Michigan State University

Research Interests: Human operant contingencies, humor, music imagery and learning. Miller Hall 338C; 650-3538; E-mail: Louis.Lippman@wwu.edu

Walter J. Lonner (1968) Professor Emeritus
B.A., M.A., University of Montana; Ph.D., University of Minnesota

Research Interests: Historical, conceptual, methodological, and curricular perspectives in the study of psychology and culture. E-mail: Walt.Lonner@wwu.edu; Webpage

Merle M. Prim (1969) Professor
B.A., University of Washington; M.S., San Diego State College; Ph.D., Washington State University

Research Interests: Sub-human primate behavior, physiological psychology,
sensory, comparative. AIC 598; 650-2928; E-mail: Merle.Prim@wwu.edu; Webpage

Ronald W. Shaffer (1970) Professor Emeritus
B.A., California State University at Los Angeles; M.A., Ph.D., University of New Mexico

Research Interests: Perception, phenomenology, existential philosophy. shafferron@earthlink.net

David Sue (1985) Professor Emeritus
B.S., University of Oregon; M.S., Ph.D., Washington State University

Research Interests: Counseling process research, Asian-American psychopathology, sexual therapy.

Richard W. Thompson (1967) Professor Emeritus
B.A., M.A., Ph.D., Michigan State University

Research Interests: Physiological, psychopharmacology, teaching of psychology,
history of psychology, philosophy of science.

Robert M. Thorndike (1970) Professor Emeritus
B.A., Wesleyan University; Ph.D., University of Minnesota

Research Interests: Multivariate statistics, measurement, intelligence testing,
behavioral genetics. Webpage

Copyright 2000-2013 Western Washington University