University Academic Year and Religious Observance Calendar

The University Academic Year and Religious Observance Calendar lists the first day of classes, final examination week, commencement ceremony dates, official Western Washington University holidays, and religious observances, for fall, winter, spring and summer quarters. The calendar is subject to change. Dates appearing in Admissions or for registration take precedence over those in the University catalog. Some extension programs have varying start dates, check with the site or program office to verify the date classes begin.

In recognition of the diversity of our campus community and to assist with planning the academic year, religious holidays and days of observance are provided for your reference. The Registrar’s Office recommends that students communicate early with their faculty if they may be absent from class in observance of a religious holiday. Flexibility with academic attendance policies is supported and encouraged. If you have any questions please contact the Registrar.

Fall 2018

University Calendar

Orientation and Registration for New Freshmen Monday, September 24
Classes Begin (tuition and fees due) Wednesday, September 26
Veteran's Day Monday, November 12
Thanksgiving Recess (no classes Wednesday, November 21, University open) November 22-23
Final Exams December 10-14
Commencement Saturday, December 15

Religious Observance

Eid al’Adha August 22-25
Rosh Hashana (New Year) September 10-11
Yom Kippur (Day of Atonement) Wednesday, September 19
Sukkot (Feast of Tabernacles) September 24-31
Shmini Atzeret/Simchat Torah Monday, October 1
Birth of the Báb Saturday, October 20
Diwali Wednesday, November 7
Mawlid-al-Nabi (Mohammad’s birthday) Wednesday, November 21
Hanukkah (Chanukah) December 3-10
Christmas (Birth of Jesus) December 25
Kwanzaa December 26-January 1

Winter 2019

University Calendar

Orientation and Registration for New Freshmen Monday, January 7
Classes Begin (tuition and fees due) Tuesday, January 8
Martin Luther King Jr. Day holiday Monday, January 21
Presidents' Day holiday Monday, February 18
Final Exams March 18-22
Commencement Saturday, March 23

Religious Observance

Orthodox Christmas Monday, January 7
The Nineteen Day Fast March 2-20
Hola Mohalla Thursday, March 21
Naw Ruz (New Year) Thursday, March 21

Spring 2019

University Calendar

Orientation and Registration for New Freshmen Monday, April 1
Classes Begin (tuition and fees due) Tuesday, April 2
Memorial Day holiday Monday, May 27
Final Exams June 10-14
Commencement Saturday, June 15

Religious Observance

Good Friday Friday, April 19
Passover (Pesach) April 20-27
Easter Sunday, April 21
First Day of Ridvan Sunday, April 21
Ninth Day of Ridvan Monday, April 29
Twelfth Day of Ridvan Thursday, May 2
Beginning of Ramadan Monday, May 6
Declaration of the Báb Thursday, May 23
Ascension of Bahá’u’lláh Wednesday, May 29
Laylet al-Qadr Saturday, June 1
Edi al-Fitr (End of Ramadan) Friday, June 7
Shavuot June 9-10

Summer 2019

University Calendar

Six-week session June 25-August 2
Nine-week session June 25-August 23
Classes begin Tuesday, June 25
Independence Day holiday Thursday, July 4
Commencement Saturday, August 24

Religious Observance

Martydom of the Báb Tuesday, July 9