Previous Keynote Speakers

Scholars Week Keynote Speakers come from broad academic areas according to a rotating schedule between: Arts and Humanities, Natural and Applied Sciences, and Social Sciences and Business. Nominations may be from any field within these areas, but whatever the specialty, the nominee must be currently engaged in scholarly and/or creative activity.

Keynote Speaker selection criteria include: potential to be an engaging speaker, ability to connect with a broad and diverse audience, and career accomplishments.

2018 Scholars Week Keynote Speaker Nomination Form


2011 - present

  • 2017
    Tracy L. Johnson
    Maria Rowena Ross Chair of Cell Biology and Biochemistry and Professor of Molecular, Cell, and Developmental Biology
    University of California, Los Angeles

  • 2016
    Kent Monkman

  • 2015
    Sandy Grande
    Professor of Education & Director for the Comparative Study of Race and Ethnicity
    Connecticut College

  • 2014
    Radha S. Hegde
    Associate Professor of Media, Culture and Communication
    New York University

  • 2013
    Joseph Francisco
    Professor of Chemistry
    Purdue Univeristy

  • 2012
    Samuel Green
    Poet Laureate of Washington, 2007-2009

  • 2011
    Steven Landsburg
    Professor of Economics
    University of Rochester

2000 - 2010

  • 2010
    Tyrone Hayes
    Professor of Integrative Biology
    University of California, Berkeley

  • 2009
    Kirby Larson*
    Western Washington University Alumnus
    Recipient of a prestigious 2007 Newbery Honor Book Award for HATTIE BIG SKY
    Author of three other books written for children.

  • 2008
    Douglas Massey*
    Henry G. Bryant Professor of Sociology and Public Affairs
    Princeton University
    President of the American Academy of Political and Social Science

  • 2007
    Daniel L. Fiorito
    Head, Information Evaluation for Chemical Demilitarisation
    Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons
    The Hague, Nederland

  • 2006
    N. Katherine Hayles
    John Charles Hillis Professor of Literature
    University of California, Los Angeles

  • 2005
    William R. Belcher
    Forensic Anthropologist
    POW/MIA Accounting Command
    Hickam AFB, Hawaii

  • 2004
    Mary Lacey
    Director of Research
    Naval Sea Systems Command
    Washington, DC

  • 2003
    Mark Shetabi*
    2002 Pew Fellow
    Raritan Valley Community College

  • 2002
    Terrance Deacon*
    Department of Anthropology
    University of California, Berkeley

  • 2001
    Elizabeth Jameson
    Department of History
    University of Calgary

  • 2000
    Robin Hemley
    Department of English
    Western Washington University

* Western Washington University Alumni

Page Updated 11.27.2017