Faculty and Staff / Contact Us

Our faculty teach and conduct research in a variety of areas, including Family and the Life Course, Law/Crime/Deviance, Population Studies, Social Organization/Social Inequality, and Social Psychology. Our staff provide strong administrative support and a comprehensive advising program for students. For background information on each of our faculty and administrative staff, click on their names.

Chair of the Department

Mick Cunningham
Arntzen Hall 514 (MS 9081)
Phone: (360) 650-4881
Fax: (360) 650-7295
Mick.Cunningham@wwu.edu

Administrative Staff

Laurie Caskey-Schreiber
(1996) Administrative Service Manager, Sociology;
AH 512; (360) 650-3610;
laurie.caskey-schreiber@wwu.edu
BA, Western Washington University

Linda Clark
(1990) Undergraduate Advisor, Sociology; & Program Supervisor, Office of Survey Research;
AH 513; (360) 650-4882;
Linda.Clark@wwu.edu
BA, MA, Western Washington University

Department Faculty

Kristin Anderson
(2001) Professor;
AH 522; (360) 650-7219; Kristin.Anderson@wwu.edu
BA, University of Northern Iowa;
PhD, The University of Texas at Austin
Gender, domestic violence, family

Karen Bradley
(1992) Professor;
AH 507; (360) 650-3001; Karen.Bradley@wwu.edu
BA, Providence College;
MA, Boston College, Stanford University; PhD, Stanford University;
Stratification, gender organizations, cross-national research

Richard Bulcroft
(1999) Associate Professor;
AH 529; (360) 650-3005;
Richard.Bulcroft@wwu.edu
BA, University of New Hampshire;
PhD, University of Minnesota
Family, relationships, adolescence, research methods

Mick Cunningham
(1999) Professor;
AH 514; (360) 650-4881; Mick.Cunningham@wwu.edu
BA, Pacific Lutheran University;
MA, PhD, University of Michigan
Family, gender, research methods, social demography

Seth Feinberg
(2005) Associate Professor;
AH 528; (360) 650-3864; Seth.Feinberg@wwu.edu
BA, Tufts University;
MA, PhD, Ohio State University;
Deviance, criminology, corrections, research methods

Ron Helms
(2000) Professor;
AH 526; (360) 650-7927; Ronald.Helms@wwu.edu
PhD, University of Oregon;
Criminal justice, criminology, research methods

Jim Inverarity
(1985) Professor;
AH 502; (360) 650-3006;
James.Inverarity@wwu.edu || homepage
BA, University of Michigan;
PhD, Stanford University
Sociology of law, classical theory
Online Course Biographies:
criminology
|| law || methods
Online Course Material:
255
|| 302 || 355 || 363 || 450

Jennifer Lois
(2000) Associate Professor;
AH 530; (360) 650-3007; Jennifer.Lois@wwu.edu
PhD University of Colorado-Boulder;
Social psychology, gender, qualitative methods

Baozhen Luo
(2010) Assistant Professor;
AH 524; (360) 650-7913;
Baozhen.Luo@wwu.edu

BA, Nanjing University (China);
PhD, Georgia State University
Family and life course, social gerontology, Asian/Asian American

Liz Mogford
(2007)  Assistant Professor;
AH 524; (360) 650-3002; Liz.Mogford@wwu.edu
MPH, PhD, University of Washington
Social determinants of health, global health, and demography

Jay Teachman
(1998) Professor;
AH 505; (360) 650-7214; Jay.Teachman@wwu.edu
BA, Western Washington University,
PhD, University of Chicago
Statistics, methods, demography, family

Lucky Tedrow
(1975) Director, Center for Social Science Instruction;
AH 501A; (360) 650-3176; Lucky.Tedrow@wwu.edu
BS, MA, Western Washington University
Social and applied demography, computer applications

Glenn Tsunokai
(2003) Associate Professor;
AH 504; (360) 650-2540; Glenn.Tsunokai@wwu.edu
PhD, University of California at Riverside
Race and ethnic relations, methods, stratification

Retired and Emeritus Faculty

Rabel J. Burdge
Retired Visiting Professor of Sociology. BS, MS, Ohio State Universities; PhD, Pennsylvania State University (1996-2012)

Donald J. Call
Associate Professor Emeritus of Sociology. BA, MA, PhD, University of Oregon. (1958-1991)

Ingeborg L.E. Paulus
Associate Professor Emeritus of Sociology. BA, MA, University of British Columbia; PhD, University of London, England. (1967-1989)

John Richardson
Professor Emeritus of Sociology. BA, University of the Pacific; PhD, University of California-Davis. (1974-2009)

Page Updated 04.16.2014