Web Communication Technologies (WebTech)

Web Communication Technologies is a new department* within University Relations & Community Development that creates and supports websites and web technology at Western. Our responsibilities are:

  • Develop and support the main Western website
  • Create tools and web templates for college, departmental, and personal sites
  • Collaborate with faculty and departments to develop and support software for special academic needs
  • Provide design and usability support for campus-wide tools (e.g. myWestern, universal login, etc)
  • Recommend web standards for usable, accessible, modern websites
  • Provide website help for the Western community via the webhelp@wwu.edu support line.
  • Provide training and classes for web staff on campus

Our templates, web standards, and help line are designed to make it easier for campus groups and individuals to create and maintain accessible, attractive, usable websites.

* Prior to July 2013, WebTech was Web Services within Academic Technology and User Services (ATUS).

Contact

We are located in Old Main 390 on the Western Washington University campus.

Mailing Address

Recipient Name
WebTech, MS 9028
Western Washington University
516 High Street
Bellingham, WA 98225

WebHelp@wwu.edu

WebTech Staff

Marie Raney

Director of Web Communication Technologies

(360) 650-6355
Marie.Raney@wwu.edu

Wayne Bakker

Senior Web Developer

(360) 650-2003
Wayne.Bakker@wwu.edu

Max Bronsema

Drupal Architect

(360) 650-4868
Max.Bronsema@wwu.edu

 

Terrill Thompson

UW Accessibility Expert

(360) 650-2136
Terrill.Thompson@wwu.edu

Bryce Danz

Student Web Developer
(360) 650-3096
Bryce.Danz@wwu.edu

Amerie Lommen

Student Web Developer
(360) 650-3096
Amerie.Lommen@wwu.edu

Nigel Packer

Student Web Developer
(360) 650-3096
Nigel.Packer@wwu.edu

Matthew Takemoto

Student Web Developer
(360) 650-3096
Matthew.Takemoto@wwu.edu

David Voye

Student Web Developer/Designer
(360) 650-3096
voyed@wwu.edu

Lindsey Warr

Student Analytics Analyst
(360) 650-3096
Lindsey.Warr@wwu.edu

Page Updated 09.30.2014