Automobile magazine dubbed Western Washington University's Vehicle Research Institute "very possibly the best school in the country for total car design." We've assembled a team of eager students to compete in the Progressive Automotive X-Prize Challenge.

The goal of the Progressive Automotive X PRIZE is to inspire a new generation of viable, super fuel-efficient vehicles that offer more consumer choices. Ten million dollars in prizes will be awarded to the teams that win a stage race for clean, production-capable vehicles that exceed 100 MPGe. The Progressive Automotive X PRIZE will place a major focus on affordability, safety, and the environment. It is about developing real, production-capable cars that consumers want to buy, not science projects or concept cars. This progress is needed because today's oil consumption is unsustainable and because automotive emissions significantly contribute to global warming and climate change.

The Team

  • Brent Wise - Team President
  • Jonathon Ide - Vehicle Lead
  • Jeff Marinelli - Business Team Lead
  • Sophia McCloy - Marketing & PR team lead
  • Tony Ahmann - Team Member

Viking 45

The successor to V40 is V45, which will be our entry into the Automotive X-Prize competition in 2009. V45 will share the same carbon monocoque chassis as V40, but will introduce some economy-boosting features. Among these are a fully enclosed cockpit for better aerodynamics, lightweight carbon suspension members, and a new hybrid drivetrain. V45 will also have the flexibility to incorporate different innovative engine types, such as biomethane, CNG, and all-electric.

Viking 40

Viking 40 (V40) is a fully carbon fiber vehicle built as a prototype to our 100+ MPG Viking 45, our entry in the X-Prize competition. V40 is built the be ultra-aerodynamic and ultra-lightweight (1080 lbs) while producing large amounts of power (est. 250 hp) from a gasoline powered, turbocharged Honda 4-cylinder engine. This vehicle was fabricated entirely by students from the Vehicle Research Institute at Western Washington University.


Page Updated 11.29.2012