2011-2017 NWCCU Accreditation Cycle

Western assesses its performance against the accreditation standards in self-study reports it submits to NWCCU evaluators over a seven-year accreditation cycle. 

The self-studies provide opportunities for the University to assess its success in fulfilling  its mission and strategic plan, and to identify areas for improvement. As noted in the timeline below, Western's current accreditation cycle concludes in 2017. 



Standard or Report

September 2011

Standard One: Mission, Core Themes, and Expectations

August 2011

Reaffirmation of Accreditation

February 2014

Standard Two: Resources and Capacity (and any revisions to Standard One)

Spring 2014

Site Visit on Standards One and Two


Standard Three: Planning and Implementation

Standard Four: Effectiveness and Improvement

Standard Five: Mission Fulfillment, Adaptation and Sustainability


Site Visit on Cumulative Report (Standards One through Five)