About the IRB

What is an IRB?

The Institutional Review Board (IRB) is a federally mandated committee that reviews human participant research for compliance with university policy and both local and federal regulations.

The IRB committee has at least 5 members at all times. Committee members have diverse backgrounds and the expertise to conduct a complete review of research activities and safeguard the rights and welfare of human subjects. For more information on the federal requirements for IRB membership, please see the Code of Federal Regulations Title 45 Part 46.107.

IRB Committee Roster

IRB Chair

Jennifer Green, PhD
WWU English Language Learners
jennifer.green@wwu.edu

IRB Members

Christine Espina, DNP, MN, BSN
WWU Department of Health and Community Studies
espinac@wwu.edu

William Freeman, MD
Community Member
wfreeman@nwic.edu

Jeff Grimm, PhD
WWU Department of Psychology
jeff.grimm@wwu.edu

Joseph Hunter, BS
WWU Woodring Special Education
hunter4@wwu.edu

M.J. Mosher, PhD
WWU Department of Anthropology
mosherm2@wwu.edu

Stephanie Richey, BS
WWU Research Compliance Officer
stephanie.richey@wwu.edu

Tina Du Rocher-Schudlich, PhD
WWU Department of Psychology
tina.schudlich@wwu.edu

Matthew Roelofs, PhD
WWU Department of Business and Economics
roelofs@wwu.edu

David Suprak, PhD
WWU Department of Kinesiology
suprakd@wwu.edu

Janai Symons
WWU Research Compliance Officer
janai.symons@wwu.edu