Kinesiology and Physical Education Program

About

The Kinesiology and Physical Education (KPE) Program is one of three programs in the Department of Physical Education, Health and Recreation. There are three degrees offered: B.S. Kinesiology, B.A.E. Physical Education and Health P-12, M.S. Kinesiology.

The Kinesiology major is in very high demand at Western. WWU students are strongly urged to declare the Kinesiology major early in order to be connected with a departmental advisor and to develop a plan of study. Once declared as a major, however, students are not assured access to courses offered in the Kinesiology major until they have accumulated a significant number of credits, allowing them to register when there is space open in the desired classes. It is often not until late in the junior year or at the start of the senior year that students can start the core classes required in the Kinesiology major due to its popularity. Some required and elective courses for the Kinesiology major that are offered in other departments can be taken prior to Kinesiology courses. Due to very high enrollment and limited state funding, the time to degree for a major in the Kinesiology may be extended beyond the normal period. Please declare your major as soon as possible, and seek advising early and often!

Program Advisors

General questions regarding the Kinesiology and Physical Education Program can be sent to Dr. Gordon Chalmers (360) 650-3113, Gordon.Chalmers@wwu.edu.

Questions regarding specific areas of study:

Pre-Physical Therapy, Pre-Health Care Professions

Dr. Gordon Chalmers (360) 650-3113 Gordon.Chalmers@wwu.edu
Dr. Michelle Mielke (360) 650-4277 Michelle.Mielke@wwu.edu
Dr. Dave Suprak (360) 650-2586, Dave.Suprak@wwu.edu

Movement Studies

Dr. Gordon Chalmers (360) 650-3113 Gordon.Chalmers@wwu.edu
Dr. Dave Suprak (360) 650-2586, Dave.Suprak@wwu.edu

Health and Fitness Specialist

Dr. Lorrie Brilla (360) 650-3056, Lorrie.Brilla@wwu.edu

Sport Psychology

Dr. Linda Keeler (360) 650-3514, Linda.Keeler@wwu.edu

Physical Education and Health P-12

Dr. Derrick Mears (360) 650-3106, Derrick.Mears@wwu.edu

Graduate Program

Dr. Lorrie Brilla (360) 650-3056, Lorrie.Brilla@wwu.edu

Transfer Credit Advisor

Dr. Michelle Mielke (360) 650-4277, Michelle.Mielke@wwu.edu

Page Updated 09.26.2013