Welcome to the Faculty Senate

The Senate meets on alternate Mondays at 4 p.m.

The next Senate meeting is scheduled on Monday, November 29th. A livestream link and recording will be available.

The most recent Senate meeting took place on Monday, November 15th. A recorded livestream link is available.

The previous Senate meeting took place on Monday, November 1st. A recorded livestream link is available.

The second Senate meeting of Fall quarter took place on Monday, October 18th. A recorded livestream link is available.

The first Senate meeting of the 2021-22 academic year took place on Monday, October 4th. A recorded livestream link is available.

The final Senate meeting of 2020-21 academic year took place on Monday, June 7th. A recorded livestream link is available.

Shirin Deylami, 2021-22 Faculty Senate President, x2913
Faculty Senate President's Blog

Faculty Senate Motion Form


What is the Faculty Senate?

It is the policy of Western Washington University that there shall be meaningful participation by the faculty, through the Faculty Senate or other recognized faculty bodies, in matters relating to university academics, budget, planning and policy at all levels of internal university governance. This is consistent with the University's policy of open participation in governance. (Faculty Handbook, II.B.1)

The Faculty Senate is empowered to speak and act for the Faculty with responsibility in the areas of curriculum, academic programs, scholarly activities, the education of students, the mission of the university, and institutional and administrative effectiveness. These matters are not covered by the contract between WWU and the United Faculty of Western Washington (UFWW).

Who serves on the Senate?

Each Senator at Western represents a specific constituent group, usually in his or her discipline, and works to apprise constituents of current Senate action and discussions.

What committee work does the Senate oversee?

The Academic Coordinating Commission (ACC), the University Planning and Resources Council (UPRC), the Senate Equity, Inclusion and Diveristy Committee (SEIDC), and the Senate Extended Education Committee (SEEC) are standing committees of the Faculty Senate that extend it's capacity and help it to fulfill its mission. Sub-committees of major standing committees include the Academic Technology Committee (ATC) and the Senate Library Committee (SLC), which report to the UPRC, and the Committee on Undergraduate Education (CUE), which reports to the ACC.

The Faculty Legislative Representative (FLR) appointed by the Senate is a member of the Council of Faculty, an organization of faculty from every public baccalaureate college and university in Washington State. Western's FLR helps to coordinate and formulate recommendations to guide legislative efforts on behalf of higher education.

University Faculty Governance Structure